HALLOWEEN / SAMHAIN

 

We do not do halloween, never have,

mainly because I have enough of ghosts the rest of the year : )

well not like most people do,

I never let my son do “trick or treat ” when he was little because I do not agree with it.

but that is my personal opinion, he never cared

having said that though (talking of celebrations of passed on relatives/ the afterlife) I would love to go to Mexico for their “day of the dead” mainly for the great photo opportunity

I am more interested in the Pagan “Halloween”…Samhain

Samhain (pronounced ‘sow’inn’) is a very important date in the Pagan calendar for it marks the Feast of the Dead. Many Pagans also celebrate it as the old Celtic New Year (although some mark this at Imbolc). It is also celebrated by non-Pagans who call this festival Halloween.

Samhain has been celebrated in Britain for centuries and has its origin in Pagan Celtic traditions. It was the time of year when the veils between this world and the Otherworld were believed to be at their thinnest: when the spirits of the dead could most readily mingle with the living once again. Later, when the festival was adopted by Christians, they celebrated it as All Hallows’ Eve, followed by All Saints Day, though it still retained elements of remembering and honouringthe dead.

To most modern Pagans, while death is still the central theme of the festival this does not mean it is a morbid event. For Pagans, death is not a thing to be feared. Old age is valued for its wisdom and dying is accepted as a part of life as necessary and welcome as birth. While Pagans, like people of other faiths, always honour and show respect for their dead, this is particularly marked at Samhain. Loved ones who have recently died are remembered and their spirits often invited to join the living in the celebratory feast. It is also a time at which those born during the past year are formally welcomed into the community. As well as feasting, Pagans often celebrate Samahin with traditional games such as apple-dooking.

Death also symbolises endings and Samhain is therefore not only a time for reflecting on mortality, but also on the passing of relationships, jobs and other significant changes in life. A time for taking stock of the past and coming to terms with it, in order to move on and look forward to the future.

Ancient Celtic celebrations

Not only did the Celts believe the boundary between the worlds of the living and the dead dissolved on this night, they thought that the presence of the spirits helped their priests to make predictions about the future.

To celebrate Samhain the Druids built huge sacred bonfires. People brought harvest food and sacrificed animals to share a communal dinner in celebration of the festival.

During the celebration the Celts wore costumes – usually animal heads and skins. They would also try and tell each other’s fortunes.

After the festival they re-lit the fires in their homes from the sacred bonfire to help protect them, as well as keep them warm during the winter months.

 

mystydragons
mystydragons wrote on Oct 31, ’11
the mexican day of the dead isn’t Pagen. it is cultural. Those with strong faith in God and Jesus still celebrate it. ( I have found myself in the position of defending it to many Christians as my step -mom is mexican.).. I think it would be interesting to go to.BTW in a real Christian life death isn’t morbid it is part of life. It is the way to pass from this world to the next. I heard something wonderful along the line Mourning is NOT for the dead but for the living.

readingsbyeevee
readingsbyeevee wrote on Oct 31, ’11

the mexican day of the dead isn’t Pagen. it is cultural. Those with strong faith in God and Jesus still celebrate it. ( I have found myself in the position of defending it to many Christians as my step -mom is mexican.).. I think it would be interesting to go to.

BTW in a real Christian life death isn’t morbid it is part of life. It is the way to pass from this world to the next. I heard something wonderful along the line Mourning is NOT for the dead but for the living.

I will edit, I did not say the day of the dead was Pagan , thanks for pointing out that it may have read like that..whoops ! I seem to be doing a lot of this lately : (
if you ever get to go , it is highly unlikely I ever will, you must tell me all about it : )

nylabluesmom
nylabluesmom wrote on Nov 1, ’11
I was not allowed to celebrate hallowe’en because we are Jewish & Aboriginal…I did go out twice in early teens….it was fun dressing up…alot of work tho’. Then my Stepdad ate most of the candy…so I was not real impressed….I have dressed up when I was with hubby & stepkids & we had fun times…..
Like you I have spirits around all the time so don’t need one day to celebrate…
Leave a Reply

