Another bee rescue and educating the grandkids

Today our grandkids learnt how to save tired bees, (obviously we taught them not to get too close) I found one floundering on a bit of wood and I showed them how to feed it honey (or sugar water/jam/anything sweet) on a long spoon !! To give it energy. I told them to get a grown up to do it until they are older as I obviously do not want them to get stung.

We did that,then moved it into a quite part of the garden and fed it some water, they were fascinated when they saw it go from literally dying to waving its legs,turning round and finally flying away when it was recovered.

Awww look at little Isaac holding geedees head to make sure he doesn’t get stung !

Arwen with some water at the ready

Lol look at Isaacs face !!

Because we are Pagan we make nature a huge part of the time we spend with our grandkids but we think it is important for ALL children, we are overjoyed that our grand daughter has got a place in a school that has special forest days and has a huge nature garden and tree house, she starts there in September:)

Oh by the way,Isaac has had his check up on his broken arm, thankfully no nerve damage *phew* and just a few more weeks with the cast on,hopefully he will not walk in front of anymore swings,he has learnt to draw with his left hand now so it looks like he will be ambidextrous like me.

Hubby is forever saving bees and I love that he loves all kinds of animals and creatures

https://eeveelily.wordpress.com/2016/05/19/men-and-nature/
Yet another stray dog came to our door the other week,they always seem to know to come to him,we found its owner within an hour ,it was a lovely greyhound.

do not re blog /share or reproduce please

7 Responses to “Another bee rescue and educating the grandkids”

  1. smseattle Says:

    Thank you so much, Eevee — and thanks to your husband too. You are teaching your grandchildren kindness as well as bringing them closer to Mother Nature. I don’t know as much about bees as you do, but I do know that there are some plants they really like. When I’m walking by one of those plants, I like to stop and watch. I’ve also told my grandson that if we are careful when we are near one of the “happy bees” plants, we can watch the bees when they’re happy.

    • Yes there are lots of plants they like,dandelion flowers are the first plants they need ,so its important that people leave those in their gardens ! I LOVE what you say to your grandson 🙂 how old is he ?

  2. That Greyhound KNEW you would help him!! And I suspect so do the Bees!
    The look of intense concentration on Arwen Rose’s face is priceless. She really takes these lessons to heart. Issac looks fairly spell bound & the pic of him protecting Beardie’s head is so touching.
    I ADORE both of you for taking care of the insects; birds & animals; you are true ‘stewards of the Earth’ dearest Sister.

    All my ❤ Love & admiration, Sherri-Ellen ❤

    • Thank you, so are you,I love how you name and blog the little animal visitors that you get 🙂 I was terrified of bees for years… I was with my gran when I was about arwens age and one flew into my grans mouth !! I thought she was going to die 😦 it was awful,obviously she was OK and luckily not allergic to them.Arwen laughed when the bee lifted a leg,it looked like it was waving,so I told her it was saying thank you xxx

Leave a Reply

